Federal, Provincial and Local Governments

Your guide to Niagara Canada’s four different levels of government.

Government of Canada

Ohhhhh Canada!

The Federal government is responsible for matters regarding Canada as a whole, such as interprovincial and international trade, national defence, criminal law and banking. There are four Members of Parliament (MPs) that represent Niagara’s residents in the federal House of Commons.

Government of Ontario

Yours to discover

Provincial governments are responsible for civil rights, natural resources within their borders, social security, health care and municipal ties. There are 4 Members of Ontario’s Provincial Parliament (MPPs) that represent the residents of Niagara in the Legislative Assembly.

Local Government

One regional government

Niagara’s Regional government is responsible for public health, emergency services, community services, enterprise and resource management, planning and development services and public works.

Twelve municipal governments

Municipal governments are responsible for services to residents such as roads, garbage collection, snow removal and parks and recreation. Municipalities also have a major role in land development, business regulations and civic and cultural activities. Elementary and secondary schools are operated by local school boards.

The Niagara region is home to 12 municipalities, each with their own municipal government.

City of Niagara Falls

City of Port Colborne

City of St. Catharines

City of Thorold

City of Welland

Town of Fort Erie

Town of Grimsby

Town of Lincoln

Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake

Town of Pelham

Township of West Lincoln

Wainfleet Township